The Rock that Follows Us

Deuteronomy 32:4 He is the Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways are judgment: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he.
I Corinthians 10:4 And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ.

After the people of Israel was delivered from Egypt and was traveling through the desert, God occasionally used a rock to provide water for them. The Bible makes two specific references of the children of Israel drinking from a rock. The first time was at Rephidim (Exodus 17); the Israelites murmured because there was no water to drink. Moses cried to God about the problem, and the Lord told him to smite the rock. Upon striking the rock, water came out, and the people were able to drink. Another time was in the desert of Sin (Numbers 20); again, there was no water and the people of Israel complained to Moses. God told Moses to speak to the rock, but in anger Moses struck the rock; still, the water came out, and the people’s thirst was quenched. In both cases, when Israel needed water for their survival, God brought the water through a rock.
Paul in I Corinthians 10:4 tells us that the rock Israel drank from was a figure of Christ. Christ the Rock was following Israel and providing the sustenance they needed to live. Moses understanding this, and speaking of God said: “He is the Rock, his work is perfect”. A rock can be a symbol of security, stability, safety, shelter and protection. Especially in the Bible days, a rock was seen as a place of shelter, where one could hide from an enemy, and as a foundation upon which anyone could build a strong house. Thus, we understand that God the Rock was following Israel and preserving their lives.

In like manner, Christ our Rock keeps us. In reflection, I recognize many times in my own life when I should have failed, when things should have fallen apart, when it seemed like there was no way out of a problem. How did I survive and overcome these situations? I come to the conclusion that the Rock, Christ Jesus, was with me through them all. When I needed shelter, when I needed help, when I became thirsty, Christ the Rock was there with me, keeping me from falling, sheltering me from from my enemies, and providing for every need. The pressures of life need not pull us under, and the insecurities of this world need not cause us to falter for Christ the solid Rock is always with us.

“Lord thank you for guiding me, and providing for me throughout the phases of my life. You are my Rock. Your ways are perfect. I will walk with you, doing your will, and knowing that with you I will always be content and secure”

Leave a Reply

